Javascript Menu by

Atlanta Wolfpack Wins 2008 AAASP Wheelchair Basketball Title
ATLANTA, March 8, 2008 — In a come–from–behind victory, the Atlanta Wolfpack won the AAASP Wheelchair Basketball Championship on March 7, the second time in three years the team has captured the state title.

The championship came after the Wolfpack defeated the DeKalb Silver Streaks 35 to 24. The game capped a week of championships that also saw the Henry County Hurricanes defeat the YMCA Mustangs from Fulton County on March 1 to take the junior varsity state championship.

In the varsity title game on March 7, Rafael Rodriguez led the comeback for the Wolfpack, scoring 22 of the team’s 34 points. The Silver Streaks led 8–2 after two periods, though the Wolfpack tightened the game to 12–10 by half–time. Rodriguez gave the Wolfpack their first lead of the game at the 2:45 mark of the fourth period, scoring a short–range field goal and bringing the score to 15–14.

The lead changed twice more, with the Wolfpack closing the fifth period with a five–point lead, 24–19. By the end of the sixth and final period, the Wolfpack enjoyed a nine–point lead. Kenneth Andrin scored 10 points to lead the Silver Streaks.

“We played a tough team,” says Wolfpack coach Onie Lawson. “Our hats go off to the DeKalb Silver Streaks. We had to fight hard to win this one.”